Gold Operations

Gold Refinery Operations

 

Assaying

Samples obtained after melting are accurately analysed using the internationally recognised fire assay technique. Results obtained are in the region of 1 part per thousand tolerances. The specific gravity method is also used particularly in areas outside Harare.

Melting House

Specialises in smelting silver/gold bullion and upgrades those deposits that may be containing deleterious materials such as iron, lead, arsenic and antimony.

Gold & Silver Refining

The refinery has the capacity to refine gold and silver to purities of 99.5% and above using the following refining techniques:

  • Miller chlorination process.
  • Electrolytic refining process.
  • Aqua regia refining process.

Gold buying

FPR is licensed to buy gold from large scale producers, small scale producers and holders of gold buying permits. The company has decentralised its buying activities from Harare to cover the entire country, thereby significantly reducing the security risks associated with transporting gold for the small scale sector. Gold delivered to the centres is paid for on the spot after carrying out a specific gravity determination of the gold content. The customer has an option to select the assay method for a particular deposit or the specific gravity method.  However, if the miner opts for the fire assay method, payment will then be made after the analysis which is carried out at the Head Office in Harare.

Payments

FPR ensures timeous payments to customers. Customers can choose to be paid cash on spot or through transfers into their bank accounts. FPR’s prices for gold and silver are bench marked on the previous day’s LBMA pm fix. We are currently paying 60% of the total that is due in US$ and 40% in bond notes. Further to that, for small scale gold producers, there is 5% incentive on bond cash payments as well as a 5% export incentive on transfer payments. For large scale gold producers there is on offer a 2.5% export incentive.

The current gold buying centres are:

 

Name

 

Address

 

Phone

 

Email

Harare No. 1 George Drive, Msasa 263 4-486670, +263 4-486694, +263 4-487131, +263 4-447810-5  

refinery@fpr.co.zw

Bulawayo ZB Bank Fife Street Branch Corner 10th Ave/Fife st, Bulawayo +263 9 – 880175/80, +263 9 -883709  

bulawayo@fpr.co.zw

Gwanda  Shop number 8 NSSA Complex + 263 775 215 272,+263 284 20957  

gwanda@fpr.co.zw

Filabusi Insiza RDC Offices, Stand 171B Mthwakazi +263 775 215 437  

filabusi@fpr.co.zw

Zvishavane No. 960 Eastlea +263 775 215 271, +263 772 455 741  

zvishavane@fpr.co.zw

Gweru 69 Robert Mugabe Way +263 774 111 466, +263 772 628 342  

gweru@fpr.co.zw

Kwekwe No 90 Robert Mugabe Way +263 775 215 023, +263 773 487 113  

kwekwe@fpr.co.zw

Kadoma No. 42 Robert Mugabe Street +263 775 214 738  

kadoma@fpr.co.zw

Masvingo 39 Robert Mugabe Way +263 772 672 659, +263 712 765 566  

masvingo@fpr.co.zw

Mutare ZB Bank 88 Hebert Chitepo Street +263 772 584 874, +263 772 936 046  

mutare@fpr.co.zw

Bindura 28 Robert Mugabe Way +263 772 111 466  

bindura@fpr.co.zw

Chinhoyi 47 Magamba Way +263 736 329 189 chinhoyi@fpr.co.zw