Gold Operations

Gold Refinery Operations

 

Assaying

Samples obtained after melting are accurately analysed using the internationally recognised fire assay technique. Results obtained are in the region of 1 part per thousand tolerances. The specific gravity method is also used particularly in areas outside Harare.

Melting House

Specialises in smelting silver/gold bullion and upgrades those deposits that may be containing deleterious materials such as iron, lead, arsenic and antimony.

Gold & Silver Refining

The refinery has the capacity to refine gold and silver to purities of 99.5% and above using the following refining techniques:

  • Miller chlorination process.
  • Electrolytic refining process.
  • Aqua regia refining process.

Gold buying

FPR is licensed to buy gold from large scale producers, small scale producers and holders of gold buying permits. The company has decentralised its buying activities from Harare to cover the entire country, thereby significantly reducing the security risks associated with transporting gold for the small scale sector. Gold delivered to the centres is paid for on the spot after carrying out a specific gravity determination of the gold content. The customer has an option to select the assay method for a particular deposit or the specific gravity method.  However, if the miner opts for the fire assay method, payment will then be made after the analysis which is carried out at the Head Office in Harare.

Payments

FPR ensures timeous payments to customers.  FPR’s prices for gold and silver are bench marked on the previous day’s LBMA pm fix. We are currently paying 70% of the total that is due in US$ and 30% in bond notes as a bank transfer. Further to that, for small scale gold producers, there is a 5% incentive on bond cash payments as well as a 5% export incentive on transfer payments. For large scale gold producers there is on offer a 2.5% export incentive.

The current gold buying centres are:

 

Name

 

Address

 

Phone

 

Email

Harare No. 1 George Drive, Msasa 263 242-486670, +263 242-486694, +263 242-487131, +263 242-447810-5  

refinery@fpr.co.zw

Bulawayo ZB Bank Fife Street Branch Corner 10th Ave/Fife st, Bulawayo +263 9 – 880175/80, +263 9 -883709/+263 9 68766  

bulawayo@fpr.co.zw

Gwanda  ZB Bank Shop No 8 NSSA Complex +263 284 20957  

gwanda@fpr.co.zw

Filabusi Agribank 177 Mthwakazi +263 775 215 437  

filabusi@fpr.co.zw

Zvishavane ZB Bank No 86 Robert Mugabe Way +263 51 3539  

zvishavane@fpr.co.zw

Gweru ZB Bank No 69 Robert Mugabe Way +263 54 2220328  

gweru@fpr.co.zw

Kwekwe ZB Bank No 90 Robert Mugabe Way +263 55 26084  

kwekwe@fpr.co.zw

Kadoma ZB Bank No. 42 Robert Mugabe Street +263 68 22004  

kadoma@fpr.co.zw

Masvingo ZB Bank No 39 Robert Mugabe Way +263 39 265288  

masvingo@fpr.co.zw

Mutare ZB Bank 88 Hebert Chitepo Street +263 20 61006  

mutare@fpr.co.zw

Bindura ZB Bank No 28 Robert Mugabe Way +263 271 6854  

bindura@fpr.co.zw

Chinhoyi ZB Bank No 47 Magamba Way +263 67 21010 chinhoyi@fpr.co.zw