Gold Operations

Gold Refinery Operations

 

Assaying

Samples obtained after melting are accurately analysed using the internationally recognised fire assay technique. Results obtained are in the region of 1 part per thousand tolerances. The specific gravity method is also used particularly in areas outside Harare.

Melting House

Specialises in smelting silver/gold bullion and upgrades those deposits that may be containing deleterious materials such as iron, lead, arsenic and antimony.

Gold & Silver Refining

The refinery has the capacity to refine gold and silver to purities of 99.5% and above using the following refining techniques:

  • Miller chlorination process.
  • Electrolytic refining process.
  • Aqua regia refining process.

Gold buying

FPR is licensed to buy gold from large scale producers, small scale producers and holders of gold buying permits. The company has decentralised its buying activities from Harare to cover the entire country, thereby significantly reducing the security risks associated with transporting gold for the small scale sector. Gold delivered to the centres is paid for on the spot after carrying out a specific gravity determination of the gold content. The customer has an option to select the assay method for a particular deposit or the specific gravity method.  However, if the miner opts for the fire assay method, payment will then be made after the analysis which is carried out at the Head Office in Harare.

Payments

FPR ensures timeous payments to customers.  FPR’s prices for gold and silver are bench marked on the previous day’s LBMA pm fix. FPR pays miners 55% USD cash / Nostro and 45% local currency at the prevailing interbank exchange rate.

The current gold buying centres are:

 

Name

 

Address

 

Phone

 

Email

Harare No. 1 George Drive, Msasa 263 242-486670, +263 242-486694, +263 242-487131, +263 242-447810-5  

refinery@fpr.co.zw

Bulawayo ZB Bank Fife Street Branch Corner 10th Ave/Fife st, Bulawayo +263 292 880175/80, +263 292-883709/+263 292 68766  

bulawayo@fpr.co.zw

Gwanda  ZB Bank Shop No 8 NSSA Complex +263 284 2820957/ +263 775 215 272/+263 772 526 357  

gwanda@fpr.co.zw

Filabusi Insiza RDC Offices, Stand 171B Mthwakazi +263 775 215 437/+263 84 2801527/+263 777 137 481/+263 783 861 916  

filabusi@fpr.co.zw

Zvishavane ZB Bank No 86 Robert Mugabe Way +263 39 2353539/+263 772 455 741  

zvishavane@fpr.co.zw

Gweru ZB Bank No 69 Robert Mugabe Way +263 54 2220328/ +263 774 700 231  

gweru@fpr.co.zw

Kwekwe ZB Bank No 90 Robert Mugabe Way +263 55 2526084/+263 773 487 113  

kwekwe@fpr.co.zw

Kadoma ZB Bank No. 42 Robert Mugabe Street +263 68 212004/+263 774 769 286  

kadoma@fpr.co.zw

Masvingo ZB Bank No 39 Robert Mugabe Way +263 39 22265288/+263 775 215 261  

masvingo@fpr.co.zw

Mutare ZB Bank 88 Hebert Chitepo Street +263 2061006/+263 775 215 259  

mutare@fpr.co.zw

Bindura ZB Bank No 28 Robert Mugabe Way +263 66 2106854/+263 774 111 466  

bindura@fpr.co.zw

Chinhoyi ZB Bank No 47 Magamba Way +263 67 2121010/+263 775 021 720 chinhoyi@fpr.co.zw