Operations

Fidelity Printers and Refiners’ (FPR) core business currently encompasses the following: Security and commercial printing operations, Gold buying and gold refining operations, and Disbursement of the Gold Development Initiative Fund (GDIF).

Gold buying and gold refining operations

Gold Operations

Fidelity Printers and Refiners (Pvt) Ltd is licensed to buy gold from large scale producers, small scale producers and holders of gold buying permits. The customer has an option to select the assay method for a particular deposit or the specific gravity method. If the customer opts for the fire assay method, payment will be made after the analysis which is carried out at the Head Office in Harare. Samples obtained after melting are accurately analysed using the internationally recognised fire assay technique. Results obtained are in the region of 1 part per thousand tolerances. However, for the specific gravity method, payment is actioned on the spot. The specific gravity method is used particularly in areas outside Harare.

Gold Refining

The refinery has the capacity to refine gold to purities of 99.5% and above using the following refining techniques:

  • Miller chlorination process
  • Electrolytic refining process
  • Aqua regia refining process

Gold Buying

FPR has decentralised its buying activities from Harare to cover the entire country, thereby significantly reducing the security risks associated with transporting gold for the small scale sector. The customer has an option to select the assay method for a particular deposit or the specific gravity method. Gold delivered to the centres is paid for on the spot after carrying out a specific gravity determination of the gold content. However, if the miner opts for the fire assay method, payment will then be made after the analysis which is carried out at the Head Office in Harare.

FPR’s Payment Method / Model

With effect from the 26th of May, 2020, gold producers shall be paid under a 70:30 payment arrangement scheme in terms of which 70% of the gold sale proceeds shall be paid into the producer’s Nostro account and the balance of 30% shall be paid in local currency at the prevailing exchange rate into the producer’s ZW$ account. Small scale and artisanal gold producers shall be paid in cash at a flat price of forty – five United States dollars (USD$45.00) per gram of fine gold.

Gold buying centres

The company has decentralised its buying activities from Harare to cover all gold producing regions within the country, thereby significantly reducing the security risks associated with transporting gold over long distances. The company has also appointed Gold Buying agents to conveniently mop gold produced in outlying areas and also from artisanal miners.

The current gold buying centres are:

Bulawayo

Address: ZB Bank Fife Street Branch Corner 10th Ave / Fife St
Phone: +263 292 880175/80, +263 292 68766
Email: bulawayo@fpr.co.zw

Gwanda

Address: ZB Bank Shop No 8 NSSA Complex
Phone: +263 284 20957
Email: gwanda@fpr.co.zw

Kadoma

Address: ZB Bank No 42 Robert Mugabe Street
Phone: +263 68 212004
Email: kadoma@fpr.co.zw

Mutare

Address: ZB Bank 88 Herbert Chitepo Street
Phone: +263 20 2061006
Email: mutare@fpr.co.zw

Bindura

Address: ZB Bank No 28 Robert Mugabe Way
Phone: +263 66 2106854
Email: bindura@fpr.co.zw

Gweru

Address: ZB Bank No 69 Robert Mugabe Way
Phone: +263 54 2220328
Email: gweru@fpr.co.zw

Kwekwe

Address: ZB Bank No 90 Robert Mugabe Way
Phone: +263 55 2526084
Email: kwekwe@fpr.co.zw

Zvishavane

Address: ZB Bank No 86 Robert Mugabe Way
Phone: +263 39 2353539
Email: zvishavane@fpr.co.zw

Chinhoyi

Address: ZB Bank No 47 Magamba Way
Phone: +263 67 2121010
Email: chinhoyi@fpr.co.zw

Filabusi

Address: Agribank 177 Mthwakazi
Phone: +263 84 2801527
Email: filabusi@fpr.co.zw

Masvingo

Address: ZB Bank No 39 Robert Mugabe Way
Phone: +263 39 22265288
Email: masvingo@fpr.co.zw

For further assistance in the Southern Region contact Mr Bhekilizwe Manyathela on +263 772 950 426 and for the Northern Region Mr Brian Maradze +263 774 111 473

Get In Touch

+263 713 261 171 (WhatsApp Only)

Location

No. 1 George Drive, Msasa, Harare

Phones

+263 8688003038
+263 242-486670
+263 242-486694
+263 242-487131
+263 242-447810-5

Send A Message